News Report

Mens Singles Finalists Fabian Tait & Wayne Green (Champion)

News Report

Wayne Green, the New Namibian Table Tennis Champion

11/07/16 | NTTA

Wayne Green of the SKW Table Tennis Club (SKWTTC), current # 3 ranked Table Tennis player in Namibia defeated Fabian Tait (Hochland Acers Table Tennis Club) 4-1 in the men’s final of the Namibian Table Tennis Open in Windhoek on Saturday, 2 July 2016 to clinch the highly prestigious Singles Title for the first time in his career. This prominent Table Tennis Tournament was jointly organised by the Namibian Table Tennis Association (NTTA) and the SKW Table Tennis Club (SKWTTC).

Green, a Namibian National Table Tennis player, was on top of his game and scored an 11-4, 11-5, 11-9, 6-11, 11-7 victory in the best out of seven set final. The Plate final was won by Colin Wang Yuqing, from the HATTC who defeated 15 year old Patrick Beggs of the DHPS.

The evergreen Christa Mrozek (SKW TT Club) came out on top of the Ladies section, going undefeated throughout her seven (7) matches. Runner up was Khutsafalo Sekolokwane, hailing from Botswana.

Father and Daughter combination of Rudi & Reese Saunderson (Hochland Acers) defeated Kaitlyn Beukes & Heiko Fleidl (SKW) 4-1 in the Mixed Doubles section final to take the gold medal.

In the Mens Doubles category, the combination of Heiko Fleidl & Johann Malan (SKW) defeated Singles Champion, Wayne Green and South African, Cleef Bailey 4-3, in a nail-biting affair to take the famous Sigrid Göbel Cup. The final score was 11-8, 9-11, 11-7, 4-11, 11-6, 7-11, 11-5 in the favour of Fleidl/Malan.

The women’s draw accommodated eight (8) and the men’s draw eighteen (18) players. The next upcoming tournament is the Namibian Nationals scheduled for Saturday, 23 July 2016.

The complete results are as follows:

Mens Singles Open:

1. Wayne Green (SKW)

2. Fabian Tait (HA)

3. Heiko Fleidl (SWK) & Cleef Bailey (RSA)

Mens Doubles:

1. Heiko Fleidl & Johann Malan (SKW)

2. Wayne Green & Cleef Bailey

3. Rudi Saunderson & Christa Mrozek

Ladies Open:

1. Christa Mrozek (SKW)

2. Khutsafalo Sekolokwane (HA)

3. Reese Saunderson & Kaitlyn Beukes

Mixed Doubles:

1. Reese & Rudi Saunderson (HA)

2. Kaitlyn Beukes & Heiko Fleidl (SKW)

3. Christa Mrozek & Johann Malan (SKW)

Anyone interested in taking up table tennis may contact the NTTA via their website,, via email or Facebook. All upcoming tournament dates are available on the NTTA website / Facebook page.

Namibian Table Tennis Open 2016 Top 4 Ladies


Social, News & Weather


Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow us