Namibia Table Tennis Association
Namibia Table Tennis Association - Club Logo

Its all about Table Tennis!

News Report


Author: Ramon Hansen / NTTA, 22/06/17

Namibian Junior Table Tennis Championships 2017 - Overall Winners

Raica Coelho (DHPS) emerged the under 13 and under 15 Girls Champion at the recent Table Tennis Junior Championship held at the SKW Hall. She missed out on the treble when Reese Saunderson (Windhoek Gymnasium) beat her to first place in the under 18 Division. Coelho had a sterling day adding to her two single Gold medals, also the Girls’ doubles Gold with Cecile Voigts and the Mixed doubles bronze with partner Patrick Beggs.

Equally impressive was the young man Daneel van der Walt (Windhoek Gymnasium) who claimed Gold in the under 13 and under 15 boys Division and a bronze medal in the under 18 category.  He then partnered with Reese Saunderson for the Gold medal in the Mixed doubles and with his brother Tjaart, to take silver medal position in the boys’ Double final.

Tayla-Reese Tait, Mrs. Gobel (Patron), Raica Coelho & Janika Biederlack

Reese Saunderson (Windhoek Gymnasium) was crowned under 18 Girls Champion with her dominant forehand block and attack and at only fourteen years of age, she will definitely be a force to reckon with in the Senior division.

The new under 18 boys’ champion is Kean Tait (Windhoek Gymnasium).  Kean was part of the development team that visited Nanying, China on a training and development camp last year and has shown continued improvement in his game.  Kean than teamed up with Patrick Beggs (DHPS) to also take Gold in the Boys’ Double final.

The full results were as follows:

Girls under 13 Singles

1. Raica Coelho

2. Tayla Reese Tait

Girls under 15 Singles:

1.    Raica Coelho

2.    Janika Biederlack

3.    Cecile Voigts & Tayla Tait

Girls under 18 Singles:

1.    Reese Saunderson

2.    Raica Coelho

3.    Janika Biederlack & Tayla Reese Tait

Girls Doubles:

1.    Raica Coelho & Cecile Voigts

2.    Janika Biederlack & Tayla Tait

3.    Sherley Groenewaldt & Vanessa-Mae Mouton  (Dr. Lemmer High School)

Boys under 13 Singles:

1.    Daneel van der Walt

2.    Fortune Hashoongo

3.    Maximilian Böck

4.    Kiano Böhme

Boys under 15 Singles:

1.    Daneel van der Walt

2.    Fortune Hashoongo

3.    Nathan Beukes & Maximilian Böck

Boys under 18 Singles:

1.    Kean Tait

2.    Patrick Beggs

3.    Daneel & Tjaart van der Walt

Boys Doubles:

1.    Kean Tait & Patrick Beggs

2.    Tjaart & Daneel van der Walt

3.    Fortune Hashoongo & Maximilian Bock

Mix Doubles:

1.    Reese Saunderson & Daneel van der Walt

2.    Janika Biederlack & Tjaart van der Walt

3.    Raica Coelho & Patrick Beggs

Anyone interested in taking up table tennis may contact the NTTA as soon as possible. This can be done via their website,, via email or Facebook (Namibia Table tennis Association – NTTA).

The next tournament is the Namibian Table Tennis Open scheduled to take place on 15 July 2017 in Windhoek. 

For further information: 

Ramon Hansen Namibian Junior Championships Tournament Director

+264 (0)81 128 9720