Namibia Table Tennis Association
Namibia Table Tennis Association - Club Logo

Its all about Table Tennis!

News Report


Author: NTTA, 22/02/17

Masters Cup 2017 Group Photo

The sixth annually held NTTA Master’s Cup, hosted by the Namibian Table Tennis Association (NTTA) in association with Wernhil Shopping Center, was yet again a massive success and crowd pleaser. The event, which took place on Saturday, 18 February 2017, set high standards and met high expectations. The matches between Namibia’s top eight ranked senior players had hundreds of people in Windhoek’s Wernhil Shopping Centre in amazement throughout the day. Most people stopped on their way through the Mall to catch a glimpse of the five (5) Senior and three (3) Junior players in action.

“This tournament is always a test of sportsmanship and technique as the playing space is small and there is also the added hype from the crowd in the Wernhil Shopping Centre”, NTTA President Ramon Hansen said.

The Master’s Cup is a promotional event, aiming at generating a bigger interest in the sport. The NTTA included a number of exhibition games to showcase table tennis and create awareness especially amongst prospective Ladies players.  NTTA’s registered Ladies players thus had the opportunity to display their talent and skills in front of a massive crowd at the shopping centre. 

Masters Cup 2017 Action

As per NTTA rules and regulations, the eight best-placed senior players of the previous Season (2016), went head to head to determine the Masters Cup Champion for 2017. The matches were played in a three game must win system, the winner being determined by the highest number of games won.

Heiko FLEIDL (32), now three (3) time Master Cup Champion, managed to outclass all of his rivals, winning all his seven matches.  He accumulated 16 out of a possible 21 Championship points.  Runner up, Dietrich MÖWES (17) was a mere 1 point behind the Champion and played testimony of the rise of a new generation of Youth players.

Wayne Green completed a SKW TT Club clean sweep of the podium finishing third overall on the same points tally as fourth placed Rudi Saunderson (Hochland Acers TT Club).  The other competitors were Ashely Julius (HA TT Club), Yannick Bohn (SKW TT Club), Fabian Tait (HA TT Club) and Patrick Peggs (SKW TT Club).  Patrick was the youngest competitor at 15 years old.

Previous Winners of the NTTA Masters Cup:

2012 – Colin Wang Yuqing

2013 – Ramon Hansen

2014 – Heiko Fleidl

2015 – Heiko Fleidl

2016 – Rudi Saudnerson

Anyone interested in taking up table tennis may contact the NTTA as soon as possible. This can be done via their website,, via email or Facebook (Namibia Table tennis Association – NTTA).

The next tournament is the Season Opening Tournament scheduled to take place on 11 March 2017 in Windhoek.